Spinninglizzy's Weblog

Falling down the slippery fibre slope

Howell Tablet Loom Update

Update to my previous Howell Loom post:

Last night, I was reading an old Weavers magazine article about using a reed to widen tablet-woven bands, and it made me recall reading in Peter Collingwood’s tablet-weaving book about tablet band widths being determined by how the weaving was beaten.

This is what happens when I allow the width of the band to double:

7350WidenBand

The pattern still isn’t what I was expecting, but the background is a lot prettier, and the cloth is softer and easier to beat.

 7352Closeup

Then, I recalled I was weaving double-faced cloth, so I flipped the band over, and here’s what I found:
7354FlipSide

Now, if only I can figure out how to make the front look as nice.

21 May 2009 Posted by | Weaving | , , | 10 Comments