Spinninglizzy's Weblog

Falling down the slippery fibre slope

Rasmussen Tie-Up Photo Post

Hi Everyone!

I’ve had many requests for tie-up details concerning the Rasmussen loom. I made the mistake a few years ago of over-tightening the cords that lead to the treadles. This resulted in a decreased shed. I’ve been dragging my heels on correcting that problem, so haven’t used the loom for at least three years! (And I really miss it!)

The loom is buried under lots of other things, as the quick remodel we had envisioned has stretched on much longer than we anticipated. Everything has to move from one room to another while work is being done, then moved yet somewhere else for the next job!

Without further ado, the pictures. (To see details, click for large size.)

 

Good luck with your Rasmussen loom!

 

 

 

14 July 2017 - Posted by | Looms, Rasmussen / Montana | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’m so glad I found you! I’ve recently tightened my treadle cords – so that’s why the shed is narrower! It doesn’t make immediate sense but there you go. What cord do you suggest for re-tying? My tie-up is a little different from yours but I think I can do it. The existing cord is becoming brittle. What words of advice can you give a novice?

    Comment by Beverley Irwin | 10 September 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

