Spinninglizzy's Weblog

Falling down the slippery fibre slope

Mini Inkle Loom

I’ve been wanting to follow the tutorials in Laverne Waddington’s book, “Andean Pebble Weave” since I brought it home earlier this year.

I could have put a warp onto my Schacht inkle loom, but because my attention span is so short nowadays due to the increasingly numerous homeschooling events and schedule I have to juggle, I wanted a small inkle loom that I could warp quickly and throw into my backpack.

Enter the new-to-me Good Wood mini-inkle loom. This loom measures 12″ long, 3.25″ wide, and 5.25″ high.

My loom came thoughtfully pre-warped with a white cotton warp, which couldn’t hold my interest after a foot of weaving, so I took it off. I put on a warp of crochet thread, but the colours were so pale that I couldn’t see the pebble weave design.

It only took a few inches of weaving for me to decide I didn’t want to spend any more time on this warp, either. Besides, I had warped it incorrectly, and while it still worked, it offended my type-A sensibilities.

Warping it “incorrectly”, one can wind 51″ of warp on the loom, while with “correct” warping, one gets only 49″ of warp length. Perhaps it’s better to do things the wrong way sometimes.

For some reason, I thought I read in Ms. Waddington’s book that carpet warp was to be avoided. I re-read her recommendations again, and could not find a single word decrying it. Carpet warp I have in spades, although of course I chose from the oddments of my collection rather than break into unopened spools. It’s my default weakness — always choosing from leftovers rather than deliberately breaking into the “good” stuff. But with this tiny loom, I’m finding it easy to change my mind about what I dress it with, as anything I take off is miniscule.

(Notice I still have not been able to throw them away yet!

This loom is so small that I had trouble keeping the doupe heddles from falling off the doupe dowels I had been using. A few small barrettes solved the problem, and were less cumbersome besides.

The pattern is so much easier to see with this combination of colours.

The dowels on this mini inkle loom measure only 3/8″ in diametre, so tensioning can be taut but I think one must still have a care not to overtighten the warp. Overall, I’m very pleased with the small footprint, portability, and cuteness factor of this tiny loom.

ETA: In my hurry to post, I had completely forgotten that I meant to comment on Ms. Waddington’s book. I’m only on the first tutorial, but already I love the way the techniques are presented. The steps she has you follow make following ones more intuitive, and the pictures are wonderful. A couple of instances after I had read and followed the steps, I thought “but what happens if…”, only to find that she answered the questions on the next page. I’ve often admired Andean pebble weave as something beautiful but far too complex, but this book dispels that assumption, and this might be the first weaving book I’d work through from cover to cover.

24 September 2011 - Posted by | Weaving | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Hi! Happy to see you have the pebble weave going along nicely on your inkle loom. That’s a nice little loom you have.

    Laverne

    Comment by lavernewaddington | 25 September 2011 | Reply

  2. Hi Laverne, how nice of you to stop by! I feel so embarrassed, because I meant to say how much I love your book, and how very easy to follow and descriptive everything is. I’m always so busy these days, I forget half of what I mean to do. I’m going to edit the post now.

    Comment by SpinningLizzy | 25 September 2011 | Reply

  3. Well that’s very kind. I am just happy that it is all working out for you. Have fun with it!

    Comment by lavernewaddington | 25 September 2011 | Reply

  4. Hi, I know you wrote this post a long time ago, but I stumbled upon it looking for an explanation on how to do Laverne’s pebble weaving on an inkle loom. I see you managed it beautifully, could you expand a bit on how you did it, set-up, etc?

    Comment by Sarah | 25 January 2014 | Reply

    • Hi Sarah, Thanks for stopping by! It’s been so long, I hope I can remember accurately. Warping an inkle loom is like winding a circles of warp loops on the pegs. When a new colour was needed, I cut the last colour at the end of that circle and tied on the new one. For such a small loom, with so few warp ends, you can actually cut all the warps separately first and then wind them through the pegs and tie each on as a loop. Because the loom is so small, you won’t have much trouble with tension inconsistencies.

      Comment by SpinningLizzy | 26 January 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

