Spinninglizzy's Weblog

Falling down the slippery fibre slope

Baby Bergman

On a cold and rainy night two winters ago, I responded to a Craigslist ad for some miscellaneous weaving supplies. The gentleman there told me he would give me a good price on an old loom if I took the accompanying bobbin winder.
“What kind of loom is it?” I asked.
“Same as the bobbin winder – HD,” was the reply.
It was late in the evening (the only time that would suit us both), and we were in his dark garage, but when I peered at the outlines of the loom, I didn’t haggle over the price; I didn’t want him to change his mind.
“I’ll take it!”

It wasn’t until I arrived home that I dared to look to look more closely. Yes! I found the mark hidden in the castle box confirming this to be a true Bergman loom made in Poulsbo, Washington; a four-harness, six-treadle, counterbalance loom.

I’m sorry to say that this loom sat outside my front door until only a few months ago, before I finally brought it inside to use. But, now that it’s inside, I’m sorry I waited so long! With its smaller footprint, it is so easy to manipulate and dress.

While the frame of the loom at its widest measures 34″, the actual weaving width is only 21.5″, because of the way the the heddles have been suspended from the harnesses. There’s a mysterious Stucto Tools part attached to the castle. I have no idea what it’s for, and would love to hear from you if you know!

The heddles had been dyed four different colours and used to differentiate the different harnesses.

The same four colours were used to keep track of the toggles used for the tie-up. Note the pony beads used to anchor the cording!

Fortunately, most of the treadles were still tied up, so I was able to examine them and learn that the tie-up for this loom is extremely simple. I did find that my treadles were of different heights from the ground, but I haven’t spent any time to determine how to make any adjustments. A future project.

The previous weaver had left a warp attached in an ingenious way; hot glue had been used to preserve the integrity of the threading through heddles and reed. All I had to do was lash the warp onto the front apron rod, and I was ready to weave!

I wrote out the threading sequence in the heddles, and some research through my books of drafts revealed a Summer and Winter pattern — something I’ve been meaning to try. The warp is that ubiquitous 8/4 cotton carpet warp; for the weft, I found more carpet warp in a co-ordinating light blue, and the heavier cotton weft is some variegated beige Lily Sugar ‘n Cream.

For a temple, I used some cording to attach plastic spring clips to both sides.

That setup pulled the edges of the cloth down from the height of the fell line, so I rigged some more cording from the front to the castle to raise the clips to the proper height.

I didn’t want to unwind the warp to measure it, as I’ve gotten myself into tensioning woes when re-winding to the back beam. I just wove until I came to the end, and found it measured close to five yards! I shall have four towels and several sample pieces from it when finished.

My second project on the Baby Bergman was started within a week of taking a weaving class on Shadow Weave taught by Syne Mitchell. The warp and weft are two skeins of 8/3 Finnish cotton. I was in a hurry to start weaving, so I didn’t stop to take pictures of any part of the setup. I chose what looked to me like a Shadow Weave pattern from “The Handweaver’s Pattern Directory” by Anne Dixon: p. 217, bottom pattern; Syncopated Rosepath Threading.

The camera picks up on any weaving mistakes immediately! The strange thing is, when I looked at the same spot on the cloth without the camera, I still couldn’t see the mistake.

It has been cut off the loom, and the resulting cloth (after a vigourous washing, drying, and ironing) measures 13.75 inches by 1.45 yards. I plan to sew it into a small vest for my son.

My third project for the Baby Bergman is in the works. I’m planning a warp using four colours of 5/2 Astra in Magenta, Ruby Glint, and Deep Turquoise, and Yale Blue. The weft will also be 5/2 Astra, in Black.

Because I recently de-cluttered my kitchen, and could see most of the floor for the first time in over a year, I was able to pull out my Bergman warping reel to wind a 7-yard warp.

I had read about using the Fibonacci sequence in an old Handwoven magazine (sorry, I don’t remember the issue number; I had gotten it long ago from the library), and used the sequence: 3, 5, 8, 13, 21. That adds up to 50, so using 4 colours repeated 5 times, I wound 4 Fibonacci repeats of (3, 5, 8, 13, 21), or 200 ends.

200 ends made up 1 bout; I wound two of them, or 400 ends. With two identical bouts, I have to decide whether to repeat the first design and colour sequence, or mirror it. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

It took me eight hours to wind my first bout, as I was terrified of making a mistake in counting. After that, I made detailed lists with each colour and which ends to wind explicitly marked out, so the second bout went much faster — less than an hour. However, I can tell that the first bout (above, to the left) is wound more neatly than the second.

The pattern I plan to use is also from Anne Dixon’s book, the top pattern on p. 198: Undulating Twill: Straight Draft; 2/2 Twill.

9 August 2010 - Posted by | Weaving | , , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. That Stucto thing looks suspiciously like a bracket that holds a removabale ash tray – one that looks like a can with a partial cover and a bracket on the side that slides into it. I’ve seen them on ships. Of course that wouldn’t make sense around flammable fibers and fiber dust. Someone might have taken the lid off and used it as a pencil holder. Or it might be something else altogether. Curious.

    Comment by Joan Murray | 18 August 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve found out that the Structo tool is a mount for the Structo bobbin winder, which is pretty rare.

      Comment by SpinningLizzy | 24 August 2010 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the input, Joan! I really, really hope it’s not for an ashtray! The loom has not been used for quite some time before I got it, and of course, it’s been sitting outside for more than a year at my house, but I didn’t detect any smoke odours emanating from the loom or the warp that came on it. My extremely cursory googling of “structo” and “ashtray” didn’t produce anything interesting; not much of a help!

    Comment by SpinningLizzy | 18 August 2010 | Reply

  3. Hello I see you have the Ann dixon pattern book. I wondered if you could PLEASE help me I am a new to weaver and can’t understand the colour graph on the bottom right underneath the tie up . I have Ashford 4 shaft(loom no treadles) I can see it’s the weft colours but not sure why they are set out like they are. Thank you Marian

    Comment by Marian | 4 October 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Marian, it’s great to meet a new weaver — Welcome to the club! I’m not sure I understand your question, but feel free to e-mail me until we get you weaving! The colour graph underneath the tie-up, if I understand you correctly, is the treadling sequence, showing which colour weft and which order to use them in. If there’s only 1 colour, just follow the treadling sequence. If there’s more than 1, then switch colours to match the sequence. For all the drafts on a single page, the tie-up is the same; different weft and treadling sequences produce the changes in the woven cloth.

      Comment by SpinningLizzy | 4 October 2010 | Reply

  4. Just a thought about the metal piece on the Bergman held in placewith 3 screws: it looks like a bracket that would hold something, perhaps a small shelf. It kind of looks upsidesown, the narrow partshould be up to work.

    Comment by jennifer | 24 January 2011 | Reply

    • Thank You for the thought, Jennifer! It turns out that the metal piece is a mount for the very rare Structo bobbin winder.

      Comment by SpinningLizzy | 24 January 2011 | Reply

  5. SpinningLizzy 10-15 years ago I bought a loom from a fellow teacher. Since then it has been sitting in my upstairs, just sitting. I find myself having to downsize and the loom must go. A friend has been trying to find out what kind it is. We think we have found out that it is a Bergman. I have no idea what to charge for it. Do you know where I might find out? Could I send you a picture to see if you concur with our idea that it is a Bergman? Suzanne

    Comment by Suzanne Findlay | 28 August 2011 | Reply

    • It’s too bad you won’t be able to keep your loom! It’s currently a good time to acquire looms, but not a great time to sell them. I’d love to help you identify your loom!

      Comment by SpinningLizzy | 28 August 2011 | Reply

  6. i have just gotten a leclerc counterbalance loom second hand. alll of my experience weaving is with a jack loom. now i willask you a question that will give you the giggles all day–stupid but hey, i have to ask. when i want to raise heddles 2 and 3 on this loom, do i only have to tie up 2 and 3 to the treadles? the counterbalance mechanism takes care of lowering the other 2 heddles? so far i am having a terrible time with this, but the loom is so beautiful and so well made i am anxious to use it. i am trying to make a krokbragd rug with rags on it. thanks for any information. ellen

    Comment by ellen santana | 1 January 2017 | Reply

    • Hi Ellen,
      Congratulations on your new loom!
      Yes, you do need to tie up all harnesses. If you want to raise harnesses 2 & 3, then 1 & 4 need to be tied up on the other side of the roller as well.

      Here is an online manual for the LeClerc counterbalance loom:
      http://www.leclerclooms.com/book/W&W02.pdf

      Happy Weaving!

      Comment by SpinningLizzy | 1 January 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

