Spinninglizzy's Weblog

Falling down the slippery fibre slope

The Coverlet Book

I was travelling on the other side of the globe when I heard about “The Coverlet Book”, by Helene Bress.  The description was so impressive, I knew I would order it at once, without going through my usual angst as to whether I should wait until I’ve saved up the money or is it too soon after getting a new spinning wheel (stay tuned), or where I can find room on my bookshelf (there is none) for it, or cycle through a dozen other very valid cons, including “is it deserved at this point?”.

Several very important pro considerations trumped:
1.  I’m very bothered by the fact that so many weaving publications quickly become OOP (Out Of Print), and thus exhorbitantly expensive on the resale market.  Sometimes, I don’t mind sharing a volune with the millions of other registered library users in my county, but there are other times when me Wants ME OWN!
2.  I haven’t been able to get my hands on a reasonably-priced copy of Helene Bress’ “The Weaving Book”, and my local library doesn’t own a copy either.
3.  For many months, I have been happily using Helene Bress’ book, “Inkle Weaving”, and own a floor inkle loom, custom-made after the design by Seymour Bress, so I have a very high opinion of the Bress family.
3.  “The Coverlet Book” is currently on sale at cost value until 2010 January, when it doubles to its retail price.

Today, the last day of the year, it arrived!  The mailman was very happy to hand over to me this huge box, which tipped the scales at fifteen pounds. 

Although the title is “The Coverlet Book”, it’s actually a book in two volumes, each of which is encyclopaedia-like in its abundance of information.

You know how some books have text on plain, rougher paper, with inner plates of smooth, heavier paper displaying colour photos?  Well, the pages of these books are made entirely of only the good stuff!  As an added bonus, these tomes come with a cd, which contains the drawdowns from the book in Adobe Acrobat format.  

While its eventual retail price isn’t overpriced for the amount of historical information you’d be getting, it would then be dear enough to prevent me from its purchase.  I am very grateful to the Bress family for making this valuable book available at cost to everyone for a little while, and for their many contributions to the weaving community.

Signing off on the last day of 2009, I wish you and yours a very Happy New Year!  See you next year!

31 December 2009 - Posted by | Weaving | ,

5 Comments »

  1. I too just received those books. I waffled on the price at first but was more afraid of the new price (I didn’t realize it was going to double) and the books going out of print than I was of the price. When I got them, I was surprised at the quality of the pages. Well worth the price and I don’t regret the purchase. I’ve borrowed The Weaving Book from my guild’s library and am looking forward to that being reprinted also.

    Happy New Year!

    Comment by Restless | 31 December 2009 | Reply

  2. Yes indeedy, I know what I am spending my Christmas money on this year! THanks for posting about this book. Anyway, who could resist a 15 lb book about weaving no matter what the subject??

    Happy 20-10!
    Alice

    Comment by ladyoftheloom | 1 January 2010 | Reply

  3. I’ve heard that “The Weaving Book” is to be reprinted soon, so I’m hoping that will happen and copies will be available at sensible prices once more.

    Happy New Year.

    Comment by Dot | 1 January 2010 | Reply

  4. Well put, Alice! I’d jump at 15 pounds of weaving material, no questions asked also!

    With Restless and Dot both mentioning the reprint of The Weaving Book, it must be true and no longer wishful thinking! Now, if the two of you can do something about a few more of the OOP books on my list…

    Comment by SpinningLizzy | 1 January 2010 | Reply

  5. Wow! You were so right to jump on it. I don’t think many public library systems will be springing for this set, although they ought to. (and interlibrary loan isn’t so great for weaving books, because of the no-renewal policy so many of them have.)

    Comment by trapunto | 4 January 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

