Spinninglizzy's Weblog

Falling down the slippery fibre slope

Mystery Of The Lost Socks

Losing one sock is a common lament at our household, but I have no idea how I’ve come to misplace a hand-knit pair I’ve never worn!

My first pair of socks was finished more than two years ago, using the pattern was from Silver’s Sock Class tutorial.  Still unused, they were socked away (har har) somewhere safe, waiting to be photographed and shown off here.  I want to wear my new socks, and I hope posting this will help me find them!

It has been many months since losing my first socks, so I finally started knitting a second pair (I’m not counting the two singles I frogged).  The two-at-a-time pair of socks I’m working on (using a single, long circular needle) use the basic pattern from the book, “Sensational Knitted Socks”:

img_5232rbsocks

Both skeins of yarn are from the same dye lot, but isn’t it interesting that there’s a difference between the colour progression on the socks?  The skein on the left has much sharper colour changes, while the one on the right shows a lot more blending between colours.  I’m guessing that even if they may have been dyed at the same time, there were variables, such as acidity and temperature, that affected how the dyes struck (adhere to) the wool.

I’ve read that in general, green dyes strike at the lowest temperatures, followed closely by blues.  Yellows, then reds require the hottest temperatures. Perhaps one of the skeins was slightly cooler than the other when the dyes were applied.

My snail’s pace of finishing any knitting doesn’t keep me from dreaming of future socks.   The next ones I want to try are two-at-a-time, toe-up socks.  The best reason for knitting up from the toes is so you can use up all available yarn for more length up the leg.  (That really appeals to my frugal sensibilities.)  Following that, perhaps extreme, two-in-one socks.  At my current rate, that fourth pair should be ready to show off around the year 2014.  Stay tuned.

10 June 2009 - Posted by | Knitting | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

