Spinninglizzy's Weblog

Falling down the slippery fibre slope

Who Loves Ya, Baby?

You know you’re loved, when your DH agrees to give up his sofa-bed-with-recliner,

6537dhsofa2

so you can put a loom in the living room!  (It’s also DS’s play room, please excuse the mess!)

Not only that, I convinced him to donate the one we purchased nearly new for $1,000. The one we’re keeping is old; I’m thinking it came from the ’70’s.  Underneath the covering that hides it, it’s threadbare and worn to a sad dingyness.   I paid perhaps $30 for it years ago while taking an upholstery class; it’s structurally more sound, with better springs and support.  I must be nuts: I’ve donated a nice, clean sofa, but kept the one I couldn’t pay a normal person to take. Too late! The Salvation Army truck is long gone.

6632ofagone11

Hmmm… is there “loom” for one more?

6635loomfor1more

4 March 2009 - Posted by | Weaving |

6 Comments »

  1. It is nice to know that I am not the only one using fiber related objects as living room furniture.

    Comment by Julie Beer | 6 March 2009 | Reply

  2. Oooooh, do tell! What do you have in yours, and how goes the search for a new Indian Head spinner?

    Comment by SpinningLizzy | 7 March 2009 | Reply

  3. The new Indian Head Spinner I am going to purchase is going to be coming to live in my living room next Saturday (I emailed you a picture)….it will come join my Kromski Minstrel and my Leclerc 4 harness loom and all the fun fibers. Right now the LeClerc just holds mail…..
    The carder and the picker live in the dining room….

    Comment by Julie Beer | 7 March 2009 | Reply

  4. Wow, a spinner/weaver after my own heart! Wool batts. It’s what for dinner! 🙂

    Comment by SpinningLizzy | 7 March 2009 | Reply

  5. Wow, when do we come to visit the looms? Miss ya. And where shall we sit when we come?? Harr 🙂

    Comment by Faye Ku | 10 April 2009 | Reply

    • Faye, I know you’re joking, but the seating situation isn’t too easy around here!

      Comment by SpinningLizzy | 10 April 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

