Spinninglizzy's Weblog

Falling down the slippery fibre slope

All Dressed Up And Ready To Go

Last year, around September, it was on, then off.  After a long wait, I was suprised to hear it would be on again; then a couple weeks later,(due to heavy rains), off again.  Due to scheduling, it probably wouldn’t be on again until after February.  Then, at the last minute, I hear it’s really on again.  Tomorrow.  I’m speaking of the weaving class to be taught by Syne Mitchell. 

Over the past couple of days, I’ve been frantically preparing my portable loom for a double weave project.

The yarns and a cartoon I”m using for part of the double weave design:

5853doubleweavecartoon

I also tablet-wove a strap to make it easier to tote the loom.

6064portableloomready

Finally, I warped my Harrisville Designs Easy Weaver “B” loom (first-time warped) with Lion Brand Fisherman’s Wool.  If there’s time, I want to do some pick up from plain weave for a shibori design.  I plan to dye the scarf in different colours, then overdye after pleating the fabric for the shibori effect.

6066easyweaverb

Class starts in less than 12 hours.  Wish me luck?

16 January 2009 - Posted by | Weaving | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Am so glad you are getting to take the class! Doubleweave is my favorite of all weave structures. Hands down. I’ve seen some gorgeous work combining pickup and shibori — can’t wait to see yours — I hope you have the time to do some. Weave on! Jane

    Comment by Jane | 22 January 2009 | Reply

  2. I was fascinated by your instructions for making the inside bits of wool winders. i have both types which I used when I was machine knitting.I would have used your ideas then, but havn’t done any knitting for ages! I have been reading some of your earler posts. I love your creative spirit and the way you record the struggles. I identify so much with them!!! I was booked on a weaving workshop in March but have had to cancel as we are going to Paris for a weekend. Quite a good swap

    Comment by deborahbee | 29 January 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

